BMK

The NOTEBOOK & …

Posted on: July 6, 2009

It was not less than a treat to watch this movie THE NOTEBOOK, yesterday afternoon. A common love story yet special in a way. I loved the country side scenes in there. Then the evening ride to UET later was cool too, under the movie’s impression. There are summer vacations in UET & you find few students in hostels who perhaps have stayed back w.r.t final year projects or internships. I like to see limited no. of people at places where I have seen so many, once.

Back in boarding school as well, I would start loving to stay back, the 2nd day on loong weekend when the nearby folks would leave for homes. The 2nd day because we would miss home the day folks leaving for home. It wasn’t possible for the like of us from far off places. Did I tell that our Posti principal would call that a loooong weekend as if he was announcing the whole week as off. On first day, we would miss home but then we would accept the thing. Now I cherish those weekends & feel happy about staying back. ghar tau visit ho hee jata tha laters. The reason perhaps was that the rules & regulations would become lenient. The 50/60 students out of 300 from various houses would dine, play out door games together. It would become a new house for those three days. There would be no P.T. as well & we would be allowed to roam in the hostels premises in sleepers & plain clothes & also visit mess in the same. Folks would adventurously visit the academic block, cafeteria & main gate just the same on their own risk… One had to be in college uniform while visiting those places. Bunking to the town would become easier too as there would be no frequent attendances like in normal routine. Sunday would be a confirm town-day in fact ‘town-hrs’ when we would be allowed to visit the town after Zuhar till maghrib. Folks were supposed to report back before sunset. An english movie would also be shown in one of the common rooms but our group would often prefer visiting the town. Each year, the pattern of my visit would change. In 7/8 grades, our fav. stops would be the kabab vala in mandiya’n who would put loads of anardana in the kababs on my request, 2nd stop would be variety book stall & uss k saamnay vala cold drink bar. Ice cream would be optional. The whole visit would cost us just 30 Rs. Just for comparison, a $ was perhaps equivalent to 28 or 32 Rs then. So 1 dollar mein itna kuch karna was still a big thing including the bus fair as well. Normally, we would get a lift provided we were in college uniform. I loved Abbottabad for that particular reason as well. I hope the lift culture, at least to Abboottonians is still there.
9/10 grades mein pattern changed to watching indian movies in those mini cinema ghars. That was loads of fun despite the third class sets and tang se cabin. But I must say that I would never feel, watching an indian movie that entertaining again. : )
Matric mein, I was introduced to cinema by a friend. I loved the huge, big screen so much that we watched 11/12 pakistani movies almost back to back. We would bunk on friday normally & watch the jummay k baad vala show. In the beginning when we didn’t know that a movie is displayed for a week time at least, we visited in the middle of the week as well, hoping that they might be displaying a new one. I have been allergic to cigarettes for long but who would care or feel anything such then.
In first & 2nd year, we would love to visit the medical Complex; Ayub medical college & the kind of places. The girls hostel road was a must to take once… The lady-garden in the abbottabad city, jinnah abad & places were cool to visit. I guess I still have the KATE WINSLET’s poster in my trunk that I had bought from variety book stall when Titanic was just released.
At the end of 2nd yr. college, computers were getting common & internet had just come to the city. I personally couldn’t get a chance to visit an internet cafe then but I would really feel excited about the thing. Friends who were fortunate enough to visit along such folks who knew ABC of computer like who could just power on, open IE & scroll the mouse. I would imagine WINDOWS as blocks like that in real life. BTW Computer was not something new to us because we had studied the introductory level courses in 7/8; the binary to decimal & octal number conversions. In lab, we would play games in teachers absence; DAVE, RAPTOR, Prince of Persia & GPCGA etc only if we were lucky enough to boot the systems with those delicate diskettes, jo har 2nd week corrupt ho jatay thay. It was a Syapa of its own kind, taking care of those diskettes. Mr. Tariq Saleem, our computer teacher was named as DOS & his kids, diskettes in the same context.

Anyway, here are some dialogues I like much from the movie.

* I am no one special. Just a common man with common thoughts. And I’ve led a common life. There are no monuments dedicated to me and my name will soon be forgotten. But in one respect, I have succeeded as gloriously as anyone who’s ever lived. I’ve loved another with all my heart and soul, and for me, that has always been enough.

* Look guys, that’s my sweetheart in there. I’m not leaving her, this is my home now. Your mother is my home.”

* Summer romances begin for all kinds of reasons, but when all is said and done, they have one thing in common. They’re shooting stars, a spectacular moment of light in the heavens, fleeting glimpse of eternity, and in a flash they’re gone.

* Southern Summers are indifferent to the trials of young love, armed with warnings and doubts. Noah and Allie gave a remarkably convincing portrayal of a boy and a girl traveling down a very long road with no regard for the consequences.

* It was an improbable romance. He was a country boy, she was from the city. She had the world at her feet while he didn’t have two dimes to rub together.

* They didn’t agree on much. In fact, they rarely agreed on anything. They fought all the time, and they challenged each other every day. But despite their differences, they had one important thing in common. They were crazy about each other.

* Science only goes so far and then comes God.

From THE NOTEBOOK

9 Responses to "The NOTEBOOK & …"

Ah, nostalgia! Thanks for the post; it was a very good description of the days bygone. Reminded me of the days when we were young 🙂

And yes, they are beautiful lines, the dialogues that you quoted here!

Yes, a wonderful nostalgia and once again I’d say I had always been a day scholar and I think I missed a lot 😐

Is ‘ The Notebook’ movie based on a novel by Nicholas Sparks. I liked his novel ‘A walk to remember’ also a motion picture but it bore similarities to a famous novel ‘Love Story’.

Yes, just looked for the writer… its the same. ‘A walk to remember’ is also a very good movie. You would like this one as well, I guess… very relate able to common life…

Posti Principal… 😀
Kabab with dhear sara anardana….. heheheheh
Jummay kay baad wala show…. 😉
our computer teacher was named as DOS & his kids, diskettes in the same context….

hahahahahahahahahaha………….

I would love to watch ‘The Notebook’ after having read its ‘lovely’ dialogues 😉

lol @ posti principal

Man this was an interesting account of your hostel days, and the dialogs at the end of the post were very sweet.

Wow Bakht, I see your sensitive side 😀 You bought a Kate Winslet poster!

I had wished I had experienced hostel life too, and I am doing so now in Islamabad. It’s the powerful feeling of independence and the ‘away-from-all’ experience that really makes one feel good. And the weekly visits back home make you value your folks even more than before.

romantic side bolo, posti. 🙂
Being prefects/incharges of umoor-e-house, INSTEP from DAWN along with the FASHION page, pehlay hamaaray room mein aata tha. Then it would be displayed on the board after taking extremely fine jaiza of all the posters in it. Aamina Haq was pretty popular in those times. It was so cool to cut the cuties fotoz from newspapers & display @ cupboards. Its cool, the natural transformation of interest from cricketers to scenery, cars & airplanes & then to models, actors & actresses.
Now the want of a real one & afraid k uss k baad kiya hoga if I wish for something beyond. 🙂

Hostel life is cool. Yes, the importance thing is also very true. double mazay..I would diL mein laugh, jab ammi would give preference ovwe other siblings & saying k bechara next week phir hostel jaa raha hay. pata nahi vahan ye karnay or khanay ko millega ya nahi. unn ko kiya pata k hamari tau paanchon ghee mein hain…I take very good care of myself. sab se pehlay pakistan, u know. 🙂

It’s a very nice movie indeed ! 😉
/…Being prefects/incharges of umoor-e-house, INSTEP from DAWN along with the FASHION page, pehlay hamaaray room mein aata tha…/
I was company junior under officer at PMA, and enjoyed the exact privilege as you’ve mentioned there ! 😛 Lol…

Leave a Reply

Blog Stats

  • 15,015 hits

Cluster Map

